Weekly Roundup

It’s hard to tell if it’s been a good reading week for me or not. I’ve finished two books that I’ve been meaning to read for quite some time, and made a good start on two more, as well as starting an audiobook for the first time this year! I’ve also done three blog posts. Read on to find out more.

This Week’s Reading:

On Tuesday I finished both Priest of Lies by Peter McClean AND The Hod King by Josiah Bancroft. Both were great, and The Hod King especially I did not want to end. I don’t think either book will be claiming the coveted 10/10 rating, but I really did enjoy both of them. I’m planning to read Priest of Gallows in the next month or so (it’s the next book in Peter McClean’s War for the Rose Throne series) and if I manage to snag an advanced copy of The Fall of Babel (the final book in Josiah Bancroft’s The Books of Babel series) I’ll likely read it immediately!

I then started two books, the first of which is We Ride the Storm by Devin Madson, a gritty epic fantasy with some vaguely Asian inspired cultures that has done a good job of gripping me so far. There’s a lot of twists and turns and some great conflicted characters.

The second book is The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson a sci-fi that is quite hard to pin down. My best description at this point would be that it uses parallel universes to explore class disparity in an uncaring universe. It’s moody and introspective, which was exactly what I was looking for when I picked the book up!

On Thursday I started listening to Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots. It’s a story about a snarky, down on her luck henchwoman and it’s interesting so far. I don’t get much chance to listen to audiobooks, so it’s going to be a while until I get through this one.

This Week’s Posts:

Tuesday: Book Review: The Shadow of the Gods – This book has just been released, and it’s great! Action-packed epic fantasy in a Norse inspired setting, with a badass warrior mother as one of the main characters.

Thursday: Quick Book Review: The Just City – The Just City was a hard book for me to review. I enjoyed it, but not with any great level of enthusiasm? Hopefully I did my thoughts justice in this post.

Friday: Book Bingo Journey – Row 4 Thoughts & Plans – Row 4 is probably the hardest hard mode row in the entire r/fantasy Book Bingo.

Next Week’s Posts:

Next week I’ll definitely put up my double review of Assassin’s Quest & Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb. I apologise if you were waiting for it, I’ve not been able to get to the computer as much to sort certain things out. I’ll probably also put up my review for I’m Waiting For You and Other Stories by Kim Bo-Young. I’m going to try and get my fifth and final r/fantasy Book Bingo Row Thoughts & Plans post up next week, but considering I haven’t started it yet, that might be a stretch!

Next Week’s TBR Shortlist:

From last week’s shortlist, I’ve picked up We Ride The Storm. That’s two weeks straight for top row TBR shortlist picks!

Here’s a link to my last Weekly Roundup, if you wish to compare the two. The blank cover in the top left is The Girl and the Mountain by Mark Lawrence. The blank cover in the middle left is The Broken God by Gareth Hanrahan. In the Seed to Harvest collection, Patternmaster is the next and final book I intend to read. I’m really spoilt for choice at the moment, but I need to tackle more arcs specifically.

As usual, let me know if there’s anything there you’d recommend!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup

Leave a comment