2024 Goal Updates: Mar/Apr

A late update to how I was getting on with my reading goals by the end on April.

General Goals

1 . Have 1/3 of my reading be from authors I’ve only read 1-4 books from

13/29 – 44%

2. Try nine new to me sci-fi authors

3 (2)

3. Read three cyberpunk books

1 (1)

4. Read three mosaic novels

1 (1)

To start with, 44% is a pretty laudable number, so that’s a lot of authors I’m getting more familiar with. Starting new sci-fi authors is apparently going less well for me, even if this was a much better two months. I’ve also finally read a cyberpunk book and a mosaic novel, although the cyberpunk book was more post-cyberpunk, I’m allowing it for the sake of exploring the different facets of the genre!

Author Goals

Adrian Tchaikovsky – 8

Read – 2 (1)

John Scalzi – 4

Read – 1 (1)

Lois McMaster Bujold – 4

Read – 2 (1)

Robin Hobb – 2

Read – 0 (0)

Again, better than last time but fairly weak – I at least have another Scalzi book to imminently finish that will increase that tally to something more respectable. I’ve certainly slowed down with Tchaikovsky – he has two more new books coming out this year (other than the two I’ve already read) so those are pretty likely reads for me, but the remaining novels of his that I haven’t read don’t quite speak to me, so I might shockingly not complete that goal this year. Bujold is the only goal I’m pretty sure I’ll make, so at least there’s one!

Specific Book Goals

  • Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie – (Read)
  • Cytonic by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Mountain in the Sea by Ray Nayler
  • Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer – (Read – new)
  • Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse
  • The Winter Road by Adrian Selby – (Read – new)
  • Velocity Weapon by Megan O’Keefe – (DNF)
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. Mandel
  • Moonstorm by Yoon Ha Lee
  • Central Station by Lavie Tidhar
  • Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune
  • Juicy Ghosts by Rudy Rucker
  • Mothersound by Various (Read)
  • Diaspora by Greg Bear
  • Valuable Humans in Transit by qntm – (Read)
  • Braking Day by Adam Oyebenji
  • Cyber Mage by Saad Z. Hossein
  • Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir – (Read)
  • The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez
  • The Lost War by Justin Lee Anderson
  • vN by Madeline Ashby
  • Pushing Ice by Alastair Reynolds

Two new books this time, which is slim pickings compared to the five of last time. But I do tend to be looser with this goal, so if I manage 11 out of the 22 books listed I’ll be happy, and I’m well on track for that. Both books I read were very interesting, so this method of choosing books does work well for me.


That’s my reading goals summary for this period – do you have any goals are working on?

Leave a comment