Weekly Roundup

I’ve only finished one book so far, but it was a good one. I’ve started two more books, and posted two reviews, alongside a special announcement. Read on to find out more!

This Week’s Reading:

On Thursday I finished The Blacktongue Thief by Christopher Buehlman. It’s Buehlman’s first fantasy book, and he’s come out swinging with a distinctly witty character voice, and a wickedly magical fantasy world.

I then started Defekt by Nino Cipri, a standalone entry in the Litenverse (think Ikea, but with extradimensional portals). It’s a good palette cleanser after all the darkish murdery fantasy books I’ve been reading recently. It’s a fun and clever story about finding your identity, and I’ll probably finish it tonight.

Speaking of dark murdery fantasy books, I’ve also started reading Priest of Gallows by Peter McClean, the third book in the War for the Rose Throne series. Not far through yet, but it’s off to a good start!

And I’ve been getting even more into Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots. About a third of the way in, and I like the way it’s going.

Of course, I’ve been putting a bit of reading into my SPFBO books (see last week’s posts below). It hasn’t been a priority though, because the competition hasn’t technically begun yet!

This Week’s Posts:

Tuesday: Book Review: We Ride The Storm – Full disclosure – I’ve been chatting with the author on discord because we’re on the same judging team for SPFBO. That said, I don’t think I’d be scoring this book any lower if I didn’t know her, it has some great characters!

Thursday: Quick Review: The Hod King – Reading The Books of Babel, I’m pretty much guaranteed to have a good time

Friday: Special Announcement (SPFBO) – It’s the announcement I’ve been teasing (and part of the reason why my reading has slowed down a little). I’m officially a guest judge for SPFBO with The Fantasy Inn! Read the post to find out what that means for the blog (nothing too drastic).

Next Week’s Posts:

So I didn’t get either of my reviews that I said I would out this week! I’ve been quite busy the past week, and one of the reviews I thought I’d already finished was not quite done. Thankfully I had backups! So, let’s try this again – next week I want to put up a review for The Broken God, and my double review of The Expert System’s Brother and How to be Dead. This time they’ll actually happen! (Unless I finish my Blacktongue Thief review by Thursday, which takes precedence over the double review).

Next Week’s TBR Shortlist (Not including SPFBO books):

Five week streak for picking top row TBR books achieved! From last week’s TBR I’ve picked up Priest of Gallows and Defekt.

Here’s a link to my last Weekly Roundup, if you wish to compare the two. The book in the middle left is She Who Became the Sun by Shelly Parker-Chan. Not too many changes from last week – City of Saints and Madmen sees its first time on the shortlist TBR.

As usual, let me know if there’s anything there you’d recommend!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup

Leave a comment