Weekly Roundup

It’s hard to tell if it’s been a good reading week for me or not. I’ve finished two books that I’ve been meaning to read for quite some time, and made a good start on two more, as well as starting an audiobook for the first time this year! I’ve also done three blog posts. Read on to find out more.

This Week’s Reading:

On Sunday I finished We Ride The Storm by Devin Madson, which was a really good epic fantasy, stuffed full of morally grey characters, shocking twists and powerful character moments. It felt reminiscent of some of the best elements of the Song of Ice and Fire series, and I’m excited to read the rest of the Reborn Empire books.

After that I started Mark Lawrence’s The Girl and the Mountain, the second book in the Book of the Ice series. It’s a little oddly paced, but the second half is proving to be much stronger than the first. I’ll likely be finished with this book by the end of the day.

Then on Thursday I finished The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson, a sci-fi story using parallel universes to explore the protagonist, a woman who feels isolated both from the ghetto-like community she grew up in, and the gated city she now works in. The book might not be for everyone, but it was a slam dunk for me. The protagonist’s internal struggles were at the fore, and everything in the story perfectly framed those struggles.

And finally I picked up The Broken God by Gareth Hanrahan on Friday. I’ve not read much of it yet, but it has a killer opening scene.

I’m still sporadically listening to Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots. Expect slow progress on this book over the coming weeks.

This Week’s Posts:

Tuesday: Sequel Reviews: Royal Assassin and Assassin’s Quest – My long overdue double review of the second and third books in the Farseer trilogy.

Thursday: Collection Review: I’m Waiting For You and Other Stories – I enjoyed this collection, but wasn’t captivated. It was nice to read more translated fiction for a change though.

Friday: Book Bingo Journey – Row 5 Thoughts & Plans – My final planned Book Bingo post! From now on, expect Book Bingo to be tracked in my Monthly Goals wrap-up posts.

Next Week’s Posts:

I’ve been working up a moderate backlog of posts, but I also have something coming up that might eat into any new content. For that reason I’ll be sticking to two posts a week (barring weekly roundup). Next week will probably be my Priest of Lies review, along with a double bill review of The Expert System’s Brother alongside How To Be Dead. Unless I manage to finish The Broken God and its review by then, in which case it takes precedent. To tease, I’ve already written my We Ride The Storm Review, and my review of The Hod King.

Next Week’s TBR Shortlist:

From last week’s shortlist, I’ve picked up The Girl and the Mountain & The Broken God. Now three weeks straight for top row TBR shortlist picks!

Here’s a link to my last Weekly Roundup, if you wish to compare the two. The blank cover in the top left is Priest of Gallows. The blank cover in the top middle is The Blacktongue Thief by Christopher Buelman. I said I’d tackle more arcs, and I have been! The plan is to tackle two more to try and desperately get as many reviews out before or near release dates as I can. As a mood reader, that’s a little daunting, but I’m trying to train up my resilience for enforced reading. Plus it’d be nice to review books on time when the publisher has been good enough to give me a copy.

As usual, let me know if there’s anything there you’d recommend!

Leave a comment